Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? How Do I ...? ? Question about Blender FBX export and Muvizu

Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.
28/10/2016 00:13:24

ikayhan
ikayhan
Hi everyone,

I sincerely apologize if this question has been asked before.

Very simply, I have determined that I will be using Blender to create models for use with Muvizu in FBX format. While I have some experience modeling with Blender (I have created stuff before), I know next to nothing about materials and UV mapping/unwrapping. I never made it that far with Blender.

So here is a hypothetical situation. Let's say I have a cube object. I want one side to be black and all other sides to be a beige color OR perhaps show an image texture like stucco. Do I simply use materials in Blender OR should I UV unwrap the cube, bring it into Photoshop and then import the FBX and other UV files into Muvizu? This is what I am confused about. Does the FBX format support built-in materials, colors, etc or should I create a UV map? Has someone created a good workflow procedure when it comes to working with Blender and Muvizu?

Ultimately, I want to create objects that my characters with wear, hold, etc. Then all this collision stuff is confusing the heck out of me as well. Not sure if I need to worry about that.

Thanks guys. Great product. Great forum.

K
28/10/2016 00:43:13

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
I don't use Blender, but the principle works the same (even though the step-by-step procedure is different for each modelling app)

Basically... both ways work. You can paint your surfaces directly in Blender, or UVMap it and paint the map, then re-apply it to the model...By far the simpler of the two approaches is to just paint the surfaces inside Blender.